Latest News

Kaizer Chiefs big winners for Maize Cup 2017


The Provincial government of Bokonebophirima through the Department of Education and Sport Development hosted a Maize Cup 2017 which started with a gala dinner on the 14 and ended with the tournament on the 15 July at James Motlatsi Stadium in  Klerksdorp. The tournament was between the four teams which were Township Rollers, Platinum stars, Free State Stars and Kaizer Chiefs.

Premier Mahumapelo who was among the dignitaries explained that the Maize cup is a vehicle of implementing the five concretes of Bokone Bophirima administrations which are as follows: Agriculture, Culture, and Tourism (ACT), Villages, Townships and Small dorpies, (VTSD), Reconcilliation, Healing and Renewal( RHR), Setsokotsane and Saamtrek –Saamwerk philosophy. It is the Premier's wish that the Maize cup for 2018  be held for two days comprising of the following sporting codes: Cycling, Hockey, Softball, Rugby, Golf, Marathon, Aerobics,Netball and Volleyball.

The Score of the first match was as follows: Platinum stars 0 and Free State 1, the second match Kaizer Chiefs1 and Township Rollers 0. The final match was at 16h00. George Lebese scored a goal which declared Kaizer Chief  Maize Cup 2017 winners and sent Free State Stars packing.

Download Link